Polestar Cyan Racing drivers Thed Björk and Nicky Catsburg have been awarded the WTCC Nürburgring Nordschleife Best Driver Trophy at the Essen Motor Show, following their double victory on the legendary circuit earlier this year.

Björk won the Opening Race as a key part to his 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship title, with team-mate Catsburg winning the Main Race. Catsburg was present at the show to receive the trophy.

“I am honoured to receive this award. The Main Race was the focus so it was important to get the perfect set-up in the Opening Race and not do any damage. It was awesome racing in front of all those fans. Winning at such an awesome track as the Nordschleife meant a lot and taking the lead of the championship was the goal so it was a very satisfying weekend,” said Nicky Catsburg.

The double victory came just days after Polestar announcing a road car lap record with the Volvo S60 Polestar Concept and the day after Catsburg set a new lap record for front-wheel driven cars around the 21-kilometre circuit.

“The Nürburgring Nordschleife is the ultimate test of car and driver and the setting of a significant event for Polestar after we established a new lap record with the Volvo S60 Polestar road car in 2016. For our drivers to receive this award is fantastic and testament to all the brilliant work behind the scenes. It completes an amazing seven days, which began with a double FIA World Touring Car title triumph in Qatar,” said Alexander Murdzevski Schedvin, Head of Motorsport at Polestar.

Thed Björk and Nicky Catsburg follow José María López (2016) and Hugo Valente (2015) as winners of WTCC Nürburgring Nordschleife Best Driver Trophy. The striking bronze trophy, which was presented to Catsburg on the ADAC stand on the final Friday (8 December) of the Essen Motor Show will be put on display at Cyan Racing’s headquarters in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Categories: News, People, Motorsports